Oops! How to delete almost anything.
Don't worry, almost anything you create can be deleted. This article will summarize how to delete each of the different elements in Ponga.
This article will summarize how to delete each of the different elements in Ponga from the smallest to the largest.
To delete a comment, mouse-over the comment, notice the “delete” button appear, press the button.
Notice that the “delete” button will not appear if you do not have the privileges to delete the comment. You can only delete your own comments unless you own the picture in which case you can delete any comment anyone else makes.
To delete a selection area in an image, click on the selection, wait for the sidebar to open, then press the “x” in the top of that sidebar.
To delete a picture, mouse-over the picture in the All Pictures or Set view, and click the red “x” in the corner of the picture. You can only delete pictures you own. If you click a red-x on a picture shared with you, you're removing yourself as a contributor. The picture remains in the albums of the owner and anyone else they've shared it with.
To delete an album, go to the album view, then mouse-over the title of the album, and click the “delete” button. Only members can delete albums, and they can only delete albums they own.
When you delete an album of your own, you have two options:
- Delete the album and all the pictures
- Delete album, but keep the pictures
Delete album and all the pictures does exactly that. All content associated with the pictures in the album will be removed. This selection deletes all pictures in this album regardless of
- How many other albums they're included in
- Whether the pictures are shared or not. Once deleted, they are removed from the Libraries of those they were shared with as well.
Please be very certain before selecting this Delete the album and all the pictures option.
Delete album, but keep the pictures If you simply want to remove the album as an organizational element, choose this option.
- No pictures are lost.
- Only the album and album description are removed.
This choice is very convenient if you uploaded pictures in a batch and a date/time stamped album was created after the upload. You may find the album superfluous, there's no loss in deleting it as long as you choose to keep the pictures.
To remove an album of pictures shared with you, you will instead see an option to “unshare” the set which removes the pictures from your All Pictures view, but does not actually delete the pictures or the album for the owner.
Deleting your Account
While we would hate to ever see you close your account with Ponga, you have the option to do that at the bottom of the Account Settings page.
You’ll find the delete account option at the bottom of the Account Settings page
If you need to change the email address associated with your account, kindly contact us directly at email@example.com or in the chat window. We need to that for you in our internal systems.
One thing you can't delete
Remember how your mom used to remind you that you "can't unsay something." She was right about that. To be quick, we send notifications out about comments to all collaborators moments after they're made. Email notifications, however, do not include the actual comments. We do that for privacy reasons.
So, if you make a comment on a picture shared with the entire extended family, then realize that you shouldn't have said that... well, you CAN delete the comment and pretend it never happened.
Don't worry though, no one will notice. 🙄 Probably.
If you have any questions, let us know. We'll do our best. You'll be helping us improve these articles for everyone. Just reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org or via the Live Chat bubble at the bottom left ⏎.